250 with 10-22

N

nipper

Hi everyone,

I am new to all forms of bench rest, but my question is:

am i dreaming to much to think i will be able to shoot a 250 score with a ruger 10/22 that i am customizing, my last shoot i scored a 244 at 50 yards with wolf match extra and have since free floated the barrel but it isnt bedded in my h&k stock, my kidd two stage trigger is set at 8 oz. on each stage and i am thinking of dropping down to 6oz. and might pick up a point or two here i think, also next step i am thinking of buying a tuner and this might get me another 2-3 points?? Any thoughts??

bill

buy a bolt gun before you get anymore money in that rifle!!! your not ganna get the 250 mark with the 10/22 no matter what you do to it. rimfire central has to many dreamers over there with 10/22's. they aint ganna do it. been there done that. buy a bolt gun before you through anymore good money after bad!!!!

10-22

Bill could you please post some information regarding your trigger, I use a 10-22 with a shilen barrel for squirell hunting but my trigger really needs to be replaced.

as soon a stiller gets his action on the market i will buy a bolt gun, until then i see a 250 with a 10-22 though.

bill

stall-

i use a kidd 2 stage trigger, its adjustable on each stage, lots of places can tune your trigger to around 2.25 to 2.5 pounds.

www.coolguyguns.com

bill

save the money your ganna waiste. you'll see. a bolt gun is the way to go. the 10/22 isn't ganna hold up to a half way biult bolt gun at all. you'll be time and money ahead if you stop now. i was just like you before i learned!!!

do you ever feel like you are typing to a 10/22 troll on here?

Hi Nipper,

You know that old saying..."If you don't have a dream, you won't have a dream come true". Go for it! :)

I do agree with Beau, probably will not shoot 250's consistently. Seems a tuner can't hurt and probably will help.

Good luck and keep us posted.

Al