Tough Kimber mainspring

alinwa

oft dis'd member
So I'm over at a friend's house, she just bought a Kimber micro nine and the mainspring is brutal. Does anyone know is there a good softer or smoother mainspring option for the micro nine?

So I'm over at a friend's house, she just bought a Kimber micro nine and the mainspring is brutal. Does anyone know is there a good softer or smoother mainspring option for the micro nine?
you reduce the main spring and the recoil is a B****.....

I assume you mean the recoil spring

I've gone as light as 11# in a standard .45 (16-18# is typical) and while it changes the nature of the recoil, I don't think it really makes it worse. I have no experience particular to the micro-nine, but my experience with similar size guns is that they need that stout spring to operate with the shorter stroke.

In 1911 parlance the "mainspring" is the spring captured in the rear of the frame which drives the hammer. If that's what you meant, disregard my comment.

GsT

I have no experience particular to the micro-nine, but my experience with similar size guns is that they need that stout spring to operate with the shorter stroke.
GsT

That's one of the things about those 'micro' and super light weight pistols I dislike. The Kimbers are nice guns but particularly nasty in that regard.

For people with smaller hands and most females, I steer them to the S&W 442 for a defensive and/or concealed carry gun and have them shoot one of mine.

FWIW.....-Al

That's one of the things about those 'micro' and super light weight pistols I dislike. The Kimbers are nice guns but particularly nasty in that regard.

For people with smaller hands and most females, I steer them to the S&W 442 for a defensive and/or concealed carry gun and have them shoot one of mine.

FWIW.....-Al

++1

FWIW.....-Al
polish p64 is a mil surplus 9x18 mak
as a mil it has a heavy trigger and terrible recoil
replace the main and slide/recoil spring with aftermarket and shoot self defense