rimfire chamber question?

I have remington 541thb that i had the barrell threaded onto the receiver. i notice that when a cartridge is chambered
the bullet is engraved by the rifling about .050. the rifle has shot poorly since i had it worked on and i wondered if the bullet being into the lands is the proper way to chamber a .22 rimfire rifle. thanks in advance for any information on this.

I'm not a rimfire expert but .050 engraving sounds excessive to me. I have a few questions and maybe some of the more well versed guys will chime in.
Is the barrel a custom or a set back factory? Were the threads cut square in the action and was the face of the action trued? Is the barrel touching the stock anywhere along its length?

Last edited:
the barrel is factory and set back. it use to shoot extreme well at times which is the reason i kept the original barrel. it was supposed to have been trued, a second bolt put in the receiver and pillar glass bedded and the barrel is floated from the glass bedding foreward.

I have remington 541thb that i had the barrell threaded onto the receiver. i notice that when a cartridge is chambered
the bullet is engraved by the rifling about .050. the rifle has shot poorly since i had it worked on and i wondered if the bullet being into the lands is the proper way to chamber a .22 rimfire rifle. thanks in advance for any information on this.

Benchrest rimfires often are chambered with even more than .05 engraving. There are exceptions, but nearly all rimfire guns for benchrest are chambered with some amount of engraving. There could be a lot of other reasons for your rifle to shoot poorly. The best rimfire smiths usually spend time testing and tweaking the rifles they build because there are so many minor things that can affect accuracy. Have you talked to your smith about it?