As a Veteran, I am Appalled

jackie schmidt

We just had two combat vessels seized by the Iranians. The circumstances are still a bit vague, but one thing is not.

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/us-news...w&hootPostID=7f79c7c01ddf7fbd5edfb56a0bca0995

I have no idea what the rank of this sailor is, but he is a Commissioned Officer, probably a Lieutenant JG, or Lieutenant.

He is probably getting ready to face a severe reality of the military. Civilian's might be able to engage in touchy freely diplomacy and complacent conduct, but Military Officers are held to a higher standard. You do not apologize for anything. Period.

It was bad enough that you allowed your men to be treated like criminals, made to sit in the position of capture. But you forgot that as an Officer, you represent the prestige and power of the United States of America.

Right now, videos of you being humiliated and having your men being treated like criminals are being shown all over Iran. The Iranians are cheering. The Mullah's are high fiving. America is humiliated on the World Stage.

As a Verteran, I am appalled.

Last edited:
jackie,
I have never been in the top of the gulf. But, my understanding is the navigation is real tight.
The rules of engagement prolly was most evident.
The US is not in a declared war with IRAN. Even though, the IED's made by Iran killed more than 500 troops.
Strange that both boats were disabled. Maybe, the same machinist worked on both.
But, Ancient rules of the Sea should have prevailed. Help all seafarers in the time of need.
This might be the first time the Republican Guard has helped stranded sailors. These guys might be in danger themselves.
Read about the Ramadi ISIS guys? Burned alive. MHO.

jackie,
I have never been in the top of the gulf. But, my understanding is the navigation is real tight.
The rules of engagement prolly was most evident.
The US is not in a declared war with IRAN. Even though, the IED's made by Iran killed more than 500 troops.