powder trickle on digital scale

T

tatco

I've read all the threads on scales but didn't see this specifically addressed. Does anyone know of a portable electronic scale that you can trickle powder charges into? I'll throw a charge lets say 27 & 3/4 grain then trickle up to 28. Seems most of the current breed of scales like the Dillon D Terminator, and some of the inexspensive scales wont register when trickled. Looking for something small that I can pack to the range.

Or if you know of a technique that would give me a comfort level when I reload at the range. I'll use my Harrel and drop charges then advance click by click until I get there? will the RCBS 750 let me trickle?

At home I have a Chargemaster 1500. Love it.

Thanks

Yes,the RCBS 750 will allow you to trickle,BUT wind is still a problem while trying to use it at the range...good luck...gpoldblue

OK...... I like Dillon. The Blue Press Boys are great....... but that stupid D Terminator unit should never have been concieved!

I've since owned 7 electronic scales from 9.95 to 250.00 and all of them are capable of being trickled onto.

I gave the Dillon scale to a friend for weighing archery stuff and use a MMX 123 nearly every day ( http://www.6mmbr.com/mxx123test.html ) and it is my opinion that this is the best scale for the money. If you're buying ANYTHING for less just drop clear down to say a 20.00 balance beam or even the $9.95 Harbor Freight scale that goes to the tenth of a grain. CORRECTION The little Harbor Freight scale does NOT go to tenth grain........see next post.

The MMX123 is where real accuracy starts, capable of weighing single kernels of powder.

opinionsby

al

Last edited:
BTW, the teensy liddle Harbor Freight jobby ( http://www.harborfreight.com/1000-gram-digital-scale-97920.html ) makes a handy range scale. I think it's still a good idea to carry along a known weight. It regularly goes on sale for 10 bucks.