You'll just have to break out your 6ppc if you want to see sub .25 MOA accuracy

Hunter

Chasin' the Sunset
The title of this thread is a quote I saw on the 260/280 thread. I thought of sending the author of the quote a PM; however, I thought it would be nice to get more than one opinion -- thus, this thread.

Recently, I started shooting a factory 6PPC, and I'm no where close to .25 MOA. Is .25 MOA, realistically, attainable with a factory gun? If it is, do you have any suggestions as to powder and bullet?

Obviously, the accuracy of a rifle is the result of a combination of many factors, only one of which is the caliber. Tell us about the rifle, any modifications, what load you are shooting, and the equipment you are using to shoot it. (rest, bags, flags, bench, and perhaps scope) How did you arrive at the load?

Tell us about the rifle, any modifications, what load you are shooting, and the equipment you are using to shoot it. (rest, bags, flags, bench, and perhaps scope) How did you arrive at the load?

Cooper varmint, no modifications (haven't even lightened the trigger from its current setting of ~ 2 lbs); shooting 28 gr of N133 in Lapua brass w/ 62 gr custom bullets, seated out to where just a smidgen is in the neck; using bean bags (front and rear) and a Weaver 36 scope, and watching wind flags. Load obtained from prior gun owner. I don't know how he arrived at that load; however, I saw him shoot a 493-9x with that load. My only score shoot resulted in a 486-13x (dropped 12 points at 200 yds); my only group shoot resulted in a 100/200 agg of .6032 (no laughing, please :( ).

As before, is it realistic to think .25 MOA is attainable with a factory gun?

Last edited: