What really matters in this game?

R

RayfromTX

I started shooting short range benchrest last year. At first I did everything to my brass and weighed every charge. I had trouble getting back to the line on time and was nervous as a cat as a result. I let go of things, one at a time. I started just throwing my charges as carefully as I could, knowing they were not totally consistent. I quit brushing the necks out. I gave up inspecting the bullets. I never did weight sort any of the stuff past the first few weeks. Now I have less consistent ammo and more time to watch the flags between matches.

What is really important and what can we give up? Heck, before I got into this sport, I used to clean my brass. That makes me laugh now. How streamlined can we go before it shows up on the target.

I've got it down to this for myself:
1 Keep one eye on the flags between matches.
2 Keep a consistent bore condition by cleaning well and the same way between matches.
3 Pray you have a good scope.
4 Buy good barrels
5 Buy good bullets
6 Stay on top of the tune.
7 Don't shoot on the record with a case that feels different from the others when you seat the bullet.
8 Pay attention to your rest setups.
9 Clean your primer pockets. Is this the next step to get the axe.
10 Clean out your flash holes? I never have but some do.

So how much can we get rid of and still shoot a good consistent aggregate score?

The only thing that matters is:

DON'T SHOOT WHEN FLAG #1 IS POINTING AT YOU !!!!!

Now you know the secret to Riverbend.

Ray - a great question, with an easy answer - compromise NOTHING. I love a quote from C. W. Rowland, a very early pioneer of accuracy shooting, who in 1900 described benchrest shooting: "the most pains and attention to the minutest detail..."