The new Sporter agenda item

TSI243

From the previous post, it looks like a lot of misinformation is being thrown around with regard to the changes to the Sporter Class.

In an effort to keep things from getting too far out there, let me clarify what this agenda item really is about, and what it's intended purpose really is.

Wayne is correct, the proposal came from the Gulf Coast Region, specifically from me. I proposed this agenda item at our Gulf coast regional meeting at New Braunfels. At that meeting, the vote by the members of the Gulf Coast Region to submit this agenda item was unanimous.
As a lot of benchrest shooters are aware I've been campaigning for this change for about 10-12 years now.

The changes as approved by the BOD are for a one year trial period. Then, at next year’s Nationals in Fairchance PA., a membership vote will be held to either do away with this change, or to make it permament.

The specific agenda item and the change that was made to the Sporter Rifle is as follows:

1. Reword Page 12 Item 5 to read, “SPORTER RIFLE. A Sporter Rifle is defined as any rifle having a safe manually and mechanically operated firing Mechanism and must not weigh more than 10 ½ pounds, inclusive of sights. The stock can be flat, or convex, but not concave. The Forearm can be any width and have any angle. The butt stock can have any angle including a reverse angle, The barrel would not be less than 18” long forward of the bolt face and can be any diameter or configuration including a straight taper or a reverse taper. The Sporter Rifle can be any caliber. Sporter Rifles do not have to conform to the Varmint Rifle diagram (on page 68 of Rev. Ed. No. 36). All sand bag rules will apply to the sporter rifle.”

2. Page 117 Diagram P under title, VARMINT RIFLE DIAGRAM, add the words, “(DOES NOT INCLUDE SPORTER).