Sine marks on fired case necks

B

Brian

I've noticed the up and down carbon marks on case necks for many years but never new what exactly caused them and never worried because I was always told they were normal. I've been chambering my own barrels for the last 6 or 7 years and always had them until just recently. A couple weeks ago I chambered a new 6ppc .262 neck barrel and after fireforming some new brass I notice the necks have a perfectly round ring not the up and down sine pattern they have always had. I cut my brass a bit on the thin side (loaded round measures .259) but that is what I have always done. The barrel seems to shoot pretty good and the cases don't seem to show any signs of high pressure. Should I just keep shooting this barrel or do I need to be concerned.

Thanks.....Brian

I experienced the exact same thing with one exception...my barrel wouldn't shoot well. It seems, however, that something is wrong there. Check the measurements again to make sure it all adds up OK...check everything involved.

I've noticed the up and down carbon marks on case necks for many years but never new what exactly caused them and never worried because I was always told they were normal. I've been chambering my own barrels for the last 6 or 7 years and always had them until just recently. A couple weeks ago I chambered a new 6ppc .262 neck barrel and after fireforming some new brass I notice the necks have a perfectly round ring not the up and down sine pattern they have always had. I cut my brass a bit on the thin side (loaded round measures .259) but that is what I have always done. The barrel seems to shoot pretty good and the cases don't seem to show any signs of high pressure. Should I just keep shooting this barrel or do I need to be concerned.

Thanks.....Brian

The general consensus is if you get a solid black circle, you don't have enough neck clearance.