Rim Fire Questions

jackie schmidt

As an avid 100-200 yard Centerfire Competitor, I admitt that I am pain fully ignorant of the various Rimfire Disciplines.

I have read the rules for two of The Sanctioning Bodies, (USBR and NBRSA), I have no knowledge of how things are really done.

What is the most popular format?? Is group shooting considered more difficult than score, or vice-versa??. Is there a Rifle that one can build and compete in all classes, (such as a Sporter in Centerfire).

Aside from the Rifle, is the equipment pretty much the same as found in centerfire, ie, front rest, rear bag, flags, etc.

I just want some general info. I have never been to a Rimfire match, in fact, I have never seen a Rimfire Benchrest Rifle in person. Aside from a few shooters over in Louisianna, I do not even know anyone who shoots Rimfire.

Educate me. And others. I bet I am not the only one out here who is ignorant (sort of stuck in our own world), of some of these common items.........jackie

Jackie,