Measuring Groups

SGJennings

I'm a newbie. I'd like to have some method of recording my group sizes, but I don't know beans about measuring them accurately.

Can someone point me to anything helpful? Articles, tools, anything.

Also, I saw for sale somewhere a tool that estimated groups based on the outside edges. Can't google it up or find it through searches here. Can anyone point me to it?

The easy way is to measure to the outside edges of the two widest shots in the group then subtract the bullet diameter.

Unfortunately the hole in the target is a bit smaller than the diameter of the bullet and depends on the paper the target is printed on. SO, measure a single bullet hole accurately with a dial or digital caliper, then subtract that measurement from the measurement of the two widest shots in the group. That will give you the center to center measurement of the to widest bullet holes. That's plenty close enough for non-competition use.

For competition there are devices that clamp onto a caliper that have circles scribed on them for various size bullet holes. They're the best way, but a more expensive.

To what degree of accuracy? You can do it to within a few hundredths by getting a precise outside to outside length on the furthermore bullet holes and then subtracting bullet diameter. That method is inaccurate mostly because bullets mostly don't leave exactly caliber sized holes; the holes are sometimes smaller but mostly larger than the bullets. The level of inaccuracy (+/- .03-.05 or so) in this method would be huge in a BR competition but won't matter if you are just keeping personal track of load development.

If you have to get it right, you have to buy a recticle purpose made to put on a caliper. I'll take a picture of one and attach when I have a chance.

Edit, Larry and I seem to have made identical replies at the same time. We'll have to refer this matter to the Department of Redundancies Department---