Jacket Shavings When Seating??

S

Swifty

Hey guys, for some reason when I seat bullets for my .220 Swift I get shavings of copper off my bullet jacket that gets scraped off by the neck of my brass. I have tried a number of different things to try to stop this. I have trimmed, full length resized, neck sized, chamfered, and deburred. I reload for a number of other calibers and have never experienced this problem before. I just started reloading for my .220 and I have noticed that the thickness of the neck on this brass seems thicker than I think it should be. (But as I said I'm new to this caliber) Could this neck thickness be my problem??? Any ideas or suggestions?? Thanks in advance!

Oh and I suppose I should mention, I am using Winchester Brass and seating 50 gr. Sierra Blitzkings. Although I have tried a couple other bullets and the same thing occurs!

Maybe your seating die is adjusted too low and the case is in the die too far and its making the neck smaller as you seat it.measure the diameter of the neck on a resized case then run it through your seater and remeasure it, if it comes out smaller back the die out a little if it comes out the same then it could be neck thickness or the decapping pin expander button is the wrong size and not expanding the neck enough.And did you champher the inside of the neck after you sized it.Measure the neck on a loaded round and subtract the bullet diameter .224 then divide by 2 and you have your case neck diameter if the total diameter of the loaded round is say .254 then your necks are probably too thick .015.But I still think you should champher the in side of the neck more.Do you have a neck turner?