Hello everyone! New guy here looking for suggestions

M

MichaelT56

Hello everyone,

Just an old newbie here from Mississippi (the patron state of shooting stuff..... LOL)

I have a question,
There is a friendly competition a few guys around here engage in where they shoot at a dime size target out at 200 yards.
I have a 257 Weatherby magnum that I have been thinking of trying out at their range so I can play their game.
Here is the question(s),
Is the 257 WM a decent round for a reliable group out at 200 yards?
What would be a good scope to use to shoot at that distance?
What power scope would be good at this range?

Thanks everyone!

Mike

What are the guys you would be playing the game with shooting?

I know one of the guys personally and he is the one that has roped me into trying to play this game. He shoots a 308 (I don't know the gun maker).
I guess my intent was to try to get out there and play the game with what I already have.

Here is the game:
First shot, you have to hit an egg at 200 yds. Then you progress to paint balls. You shoot paint balls until you miss. The person that hits the most paint balls wins (bragging rights for the day.... LOL).

SO, you guys think I won't be able to play this game using my 257 WM...... right?

Mike

Get a big 36+ power scope and go give it a try. Usually the recoil from large magnums keep them from being competitive in a match like that. Go on out there and have fun. I bet theyll let you shoot their stuff to get you hooked

Get a big 36+ power scope and go give it a try. Usually the recoil from large magnums keep them from being competitive in a match like that. Go on out there and have fun. I bet theyll let you shoot their stuff to get you hooked

Yep, I figure they are trying to set the hook on me. I guess I will start with a good scope and then if I have to replace the rifle...... dang, this is already sounding like a rich man's game (LOL).

Mike

Heck