general neck turning advice

R

Robbert

I am new to neck turning my cases.

I am now doing it with a Sinclaier neckturning NT-1000 tool.

My result is that I can feel (with my nail scratching along the neck) all very tiny marks as a result of turning.

Is this normal or should the result be 100 % smooth?

thanks for sharing your experience.

Robbert

neck turning

I am not an expert but have turned for a number of rifles I shoot. I have had some come out smooth and others with small lines as you describe using the same tool (differant brass). I have used steel wool to polish them, turning them with a drill and a Lee case holder. I doubt it makes alot of differance.

Robbert: I also have and use the Sinclair NT-1000 ( since 1998), but recently upgraded to the NT-4000/ excellent tool. Anyway, it's been my experience that the lines (look like screw threads ?), can be caused by pushing the case forward too fast. Try slowing down on your cutting feed. When it does happen, I just go over that area again, for an always smooth cut. In the process of prepping 80 new Lapua 220 Russian to 6ppc, for a pair of new chambers "as we speak", and am really impressed with the NT-4000: all the shortcomings of the NT-1000 have been fixed. Mandrels are interchangable so no additional expense there.

Thank you, but do the tiny markings left from turning invluence on accuracy in any form? shoot the case neck be really smooth and shiny again?:confused:

threaded necks

The small peaks and valleys on a turned neck may not cause a problem with accuracy. I think the high ridges wear down fast or are forced down,making
the neck thinner quickly. As it was previously mentioned, pushing the
case can cause this. It is also probable that the cutting edge is not
truely parallel to the mandrill. Adjusting the cutter to a very close position
to the mandrill and holding it up to a good light, it can be seen easily. If
the leading edge is high, the surface will look threaded , and if the trailing