Chamber polishing

C

chuck furniss

What is the best method for polishing a chamber that is showing radial tool marks on the brass?
This is causing hard extraction in a minimum size chamber.

Chuck.

I am by no means an expert Chuck.

At the moment I am doing a bit of lapping work on some home made swage dies. For your purpose I can recommend diamond paste as an effective lapping compond.

Maybe a brass lap loaded with 2500 grit to start ?

Mike

What is the best method for polishing a chamber that is showing radial tool marks on the brass?
This is causing hard extraction in a minimum size chamber.

Chuck.
For something like a PPC diameter case start with a 1/4" diameter wooden dowel then saw split it about 1/2". Start with some about 180-220 wet-or-dry abrasive. Cut a piece of abrasive about 1" X 1/2" and wrap it around the dowel (I'm assuming here the barrel is chucked in a lathe). Trying to polish a chamber without rotating it in a lathe can give disastrous results!!

Polish till you get the size and finish you want...you do not want a super polished finish, gives too much bolt thrust.

Make yourself up a split mandrel out of 1/4" dowel or smaller for a smaller case. Slit the end for a 4-6" long 1-2" wide strip of sandpaper. Slide a strip of paper about a half inch to an inch beyond the end of the slit and wrap the paper around the dowel overlapping itself around the dowel. Wrap in the direction that will keep the paper wrapped up and abrasive side out while the chamber is spinning in the lathe. As the paper wears just tear off the worn end. Google split mandrel for pictures. I have brass and steel split mandrels for use in die grinders as well.

Just to clarify: I do not use the mandrels in a die grinder for polishing chambers. I just mentioned them as they are useful tooling to have around for cleaning up or polishing holes in general.

Last edited:
You do not want a super polished finish, gives too much bolt thrust.