Any special techniques when loading for a black nitrided barrel?

308sako

I understand that the bore may have less friction but what other observations regarding these barrels have been noted?

I am just beginning with my first one and am seeing excellent accuracy and then it stops, and then a few more rounds and it returns... like in and out of a node. Velocities have been very consistent over the Oehler 35P when this has occured.

Any special cleaning methods employed.. i normally don't until accuracy falls off, but with this barrel, there seems to be nothing to clean out.

You might send a PM to Butch Lambert, he had quite a bit of experience with one, until it was taken off his hands somehow.

He has had another done and has just started working with it, he'd be able to tell you all about it.

(He doesn't talk about it, he tries it out.)

home_004.jpg

I cropped a picture of my trophy room from years ago

Mine take about a half grain more powder in my PPC. Haven't shot my 30BR yet. I clean after every 2 groups instead of each group. Never even thought of going further. They are easy to clean.
Butch

Thank you

Butch, This 1st barrel is for an AR and I have already put 65 rounds down it without a trace of fouling in one session. Two patches and a smug of carbon came forth. My second barrel in the works is a 6.5/284, and that will see a similar amount of fluid attention.

I am assuming therefore that all other observations are like untreated barrels, except the amount of powder to achieve the same velocity/accuracy?

Thanks for the response

Dave

Mine take about a half grain more powder in my PPC. Haven't shot my 30BR yet. I clean after every 2 groups instead of each group. Never even thought of going further. They are easy to clean.
Butch
Is the Joel Kendrick product?
Tks