30ppc

Neck it up and fireform a .220 Russian. It's easier to just neck up 6.5 Grendel brass from 6.5 to 30, but that's not a 30 PPC. It's a 30 Major, which is .070 longer than a PPC to the shoulder datum. Lapua makes great brass for either.

There's a lot of confusion around the 30PPC and 30 Major. The Major has been done by a few different people, including myself. I love it and think it makes pefect sense, especially on a dedicated ppc boltface.

The confusion is rooted around Alexander Arms, who owned a trademark on the name "Grendel". It got labeled different things because calling it a 30 Grendel was a trademark infringement. He has let the trademark go, since.

Whichever you build, for whatever reasons, do the research and talk to the people that actually know what is what.

I've been building and shooting my 30 Major rifles since 2007. It's capacity is right between a PPC and a BR.---Mike Ezell

I have shot a 30 PPC

I am curious How is the 30PPC made? . What bullets are being used?

for 5+ years now. You can:

1) take 220 Russian and fill them w/ Red Dot and put a throw a bullet on them and shoot them in a 6MM, a 6MM, a 6MM barrel. Did I say 6MM barrel?, that has a 30 PPC chamber in it to blow out the necks. Or.... you can buy 7.62 x 39 Lapua brass and push the necks back and make cases like you were doing 30X44 from 308 Lapua. I have done both, and I am using 7.62 now. i am not going to use my 220 Russian for this one. The gold box I have left is too precious. Blue box 220 Russian is crap.

the only difference

Ralph Stewart, Mike Stennett and those guys make the 30 Stewart by pushing back the shoulder on 6.5 Grendel brass.
sbetween 6.5 Grendel and 7.62x39 brass is expanders and primers. And for my money, the size of the primers makes nada. But the price of the brass is significant. Especially in the long term. And I only select a cartridge for LONG term.