30 Aardvark Load Data?

Go to the home page here and click on the IBS link. On the IBS link click on match results. Look at the results of a few Score events looking for the equipment list. Look for someone shooting an Aardvrk and see what they have used. Look at what they have used. Look at several Match Report.

The traditional load was 35.5 grains of N130 (reloader 12 should work too) with a 125 grain bullet. I have 2 guns with this chamber and they both respond well to that combination but .925 and 1" jacket bullets work too. I am using a 14 twist and 17 twist barrel. One gun is a Hunter 10 pound gun and the other is a HV gun. I was shocked when I started shooting it as I felt the 30BR had much more recoil. :cool:

I have a lot of load data for the standard 30-30 case if you are interested. I realize that you have greater capacity, but my loads are considered "hot" by most standards. My N130 load is 38 gr. with the 118 gr. bullet for 3080 fps. I have loads with this same bullet producing velocities in the 3250 fps. range, but not with this powder. Another good load is a casefull of N133. If you are interested, just work up these loads with caution. I have never destroyed a 30-30 case with any of my loads, but all components must be the same.

Michael

Michael....did you ever test a 19 or 20 twist barrel in your 30-30..??

Eddie Williams in Texas

Eddie,
My Hart barrel is a 18.7" twist from late 1999. It is the first 18" twist made by Hart. After bugging them for a year, they finally made the button for me and sent me two barrels, saying the twist came out a tad slower than expected. The barrels were marked .3078" and 18.7 twist. I shot this barrel with 125 gr. Bergers (1" jacket) at New Braunfals. Most people would say that the .925" jacket would have been the better way to go, but it was this combination that shot so well back at the TX State match in 2000, with the first 3 groups of .150", .123", and a .190", that shook a lot of PPC shooters up so much.