25 yard group size.

D

derek casey

what is a exceptable 25 yard group size? my suhl is producing .25 and .26 out side edge to outside edge consistantly. what would you consider a exceptable 25 yard group from outside edge to outside edge?

right now i'm just trying out test lots. i'm getting ready to take it outside next week and start testing at 50 in the wind to see what the bullets are doing. i notice m groups went south when i opened the basement door while testing tonight. so far the fiocchi i have is bucking the wind better than anything. and it groups outstanding inside as well. that might end up being the magic bullet for this gun:eek:!!

Okay, somebody tell me what I’m missing here.
.25” (Edge to Edge) – .223” (Bullet Diameter) = .027”(C to C) @ 25yds
----------------------------------------------.054”(C to C) @ 50yds (Assumption)

Even if you decrease the bullet diameter for the type of paper used, aren’t we looking at potential world record groups? I’m not a math professor, so someone “Clue me in” to what I’ve done wrong.

He's saying

at 25 yds your looking at 1/4" groups and it would relate to 1/2" at 50 yds. At 25 yds you are not really able to tell the true potental of what your gun can or can't do. That size groups won't get you anywhere in competition. Current World record for 50Yds (ARG) is held by Ron Lewis @ 0.066 .

At 25 yards with a real good rifle and ammo, you should be able to get to a group size that will hold a spent case. Yea, looks like a single shot hole.

Figure out all you want, but I don't believe the math works out between 25 and 50 yard groups.

As some have said on here.....at some point you have to shoot 50 yards outside....but shooting 25 yards inside can help you cull lots or testing of rifle changes.....it if throws shots all over at 25 it sure aint going to get any better at 50.

Good luck.

Charlie

Derek: