Will a tuner work for me

bigredplane

Just looking for some opinions. I have a older Anschutz Match 54(1613) 1977 one of the Xseries barrels. It seems to shoot OK as far as I can tell, I'm no expert, only been shooting for about 9 months. My question is do you think a tuner will help a older gun. We all know the barrel isn't new and got some wear to it. Just don't want to waste the money if not going to help like they do on the new high dollar guns. I'm looking at getting one the Harrel style tuners fron Dan Killough. Do you think I will need the tuner weight systems also. My barrel is 27.1" Anschuts barrels a little over .900 in DIA. Any thoughts on this would appreciated.:confused:

Scott

If you find that the present barrel will not shoot as consistently as you would like then change the barrel and get the tuner and weight system. Are you shooting benchrest or some other regime. My 2C for what ever it is worth. garrisone.

I am shooting Benchrest. I would change the barrel but one the for fun shoots I go to the rules are all factory guns ,but tuner's are allowed. But if I could fine a factory take off like new or new barrel I could put that on.

Scott

Scott, no reason in the world that bbl could not hang in there and shoot. The first thing you might do is give it a good cleaning, chamber and all to make sure you start out with a repeatable condition and then get the tuner with 1 3oz weight and have at it. You can always get more weights if you feel the need but that's a sane starting point.

The X actions were/are great shooters. I would not give up on that barrel before trying a tuner on it. I have 2 of them and one has a Kenyon trigger. Both are shooters.

New Question