Whose shooting a tube gun in competitions and are you happy with this platform?

338lm

Are any of you shooting a tube gun in competitions? Are you happy that you went the tube gun route? Any particular negative issues that you have had with yours? I handled one and got behind it for a few rounds not too long ago. I like them a lot. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

I'm very happy with mine. I have been using it for several years, and it is very robust, no breakdowns. The only negative is the bolt removal...it takes about 45 seconds if you have the allen key with you.

How heavy did your finished rifles end up? Mine ended up being too heavy for me to shoot at my local club in benchrest. I am new to this, and ordered a barrel with a far too heavy contour. I'm wondering if I ordered another barrel it would be light enough.

I ordered one of Pierce's tube gun receivers, standard Jewell trigger, etc, so if your rifles make weight (what class?) I'm going to get a different barrel....

-Dave

German,

I seem to remember the old funnyguns. Had a very early one in 22-250. It now has a new barrel (6BR) that has remained untested for almost a decade. I'm nothing short of a lurker now that decided to become a full time grandfather. Best to all, and thanks German for the mention in your PS article several years past. I sure miss Larry, JJ and the Boyz!