Which Anschutz?

E

ErnieJ

I'm new to the sport and need some advice.Looks like the best Anschutz for bench rest is either the 1907 or 1913.Which barrel length is better? Also Champion Shooters is offering these models with a Kelby stock.Is this a smart move? I appreciate the help.

Are they offering those models in the Kelbly stock or do you have to buy one in another stock and then buy the stock? Also, is the barrel bedded or only inletted? Based on the price, I would say inletted only. If that's the case, you can purchase the barreled action from Champion's Choice and then purchase either a Kelbly or McMillan stock for the action. As far as which is better, aren't they both 54 actions? If so, then only the barrel length makes a difference, in which case I would go for a 690 mm, but I lke a longer barrel. If you intend to later upgrade the barrel, you might simply consider a good used 54 action. You would probably save enough money to pay for most of the upgrade.

Generally speaking.....

The 1907 barreled action (smaller barrel dia.) will be easier to tune with a tuner attached.

The 1913 barreled action (larger barrel dia.) "should" shoot better right out of the box.

That's my experience with 5-6 of each of those actions.

Hose

Last edited by a moderator:
Which Anschutz

What is the barrel diameter difference between the 1907 and 1913?

Mine measures 21.25mm on the 1907 and 24.5mm on the 1913.

I takes quite a few more turns of the tuner to see a difference on my 1913 than the 1907.

I also have a BR sporter profile barrel on a 54:18 and it is real sensitive to tuner changes. That barrel is 19mm dia. the whole length

Mike

That 1913 has a big barrel; the 1907 is closer to current barrels made for current BR tuner theory. How do they shoot comparatively without a tuner?