what .22lr rifle ammo do winning benchrest shooters use at 100 yards?

Although normal rim fire bench rest is done at 50 yards, at Williamsport 1,000 yard range in PA, they run 200 yard Rim Fire Bench Rest shoots during the season.

No question that you don't know the answer to is stupid.

I am new to Rim Fire Bench Rest, but have purchased Eley Tenex and Lapua X-Act and Midas + Match ammo to try in my new RF BR Rifle. Seems to be want most of the Rim Fire Shooters I know recommend.

Bob

Last edited:
Bob,
I have found that RWS 50 shoots best in my ULA action BR rifle with a Shilen barrel. I tested some others
but found it shot best, (until last week in the cold that is!!!!!)
Regards,

Joe McNeill
SW Arkansas

Back when my local F&G club was having 100 yd matches either of the SK Match & Wolf match offerings were popular. A few of us dabbled with Lapua & Eley with good results but they were never the dominant offerings that we'd think they would be.
Even some of the lesser quality Federal offerings held its own. Older Remington Target ammo did well too.
Try several offerings & you'll soon see what you like the best.
Have Fun!

Keith

Thanks Joe and Keith and see RCMARK, there is more than 50 yard RF Bench Rest! Not a stupid question at all. I guess now I need to buy three more brands to try. The guy I bought it from said that he has the best results with Lapua and he sent me a number of match targets where he won. I have also been warned that in this discipline, it is the shooters that can afford to buy the most ammo to test and stockpile like lots of, that are the consistent winners, though for me this will be a Club Gun. Of course now I guess I need a Rim Fire Concentricity gauge. I just ordered a Mike Lucas Bore Guide this morning for it and it will be getting a new base and new Burris rings with inserts.

Bob

Some Lapua results at 100 meters