tuning by group shape

afrench

i've been shooting short range BR for a few years now and am slowly improving my aggs.

one thing i still struggle with is figuring out what the target is telling me and how to adjust for the group's shape. this target was shot this last weekend at a club match.

for this target, the wind was probably 15+ from 5-7:00 with fast switches. high clouds with virtually no mirage to deal with. it was cool and humid. i shot this group with wind from 5:00.

let's say i was using a typical 133 load, 29.0gr, 10 thou into the lands, hard neck tension, etc. what changes would you make to tighten up the group?

or, if you're more comfortable with a different powder/charge how would you make adjustments if you were using your pet load in your gun?

and the sighter...

Last edited:
Looks like wind to me

Certainly, I've shot a few targets that looked similar. One question before I say more - how long (time) between shots?

Refer to Jack Neary's You tube videos

Looks wind sensitive. More powder. As long as your not showing any signs of over pressure. Good luck. Tony

Looks like you're missing the wind intensity. Your directional hold looks good. With changes like that I'd probably be looking to take more sighters. Your might try and give more attention to your tails, but at 15 + they may be straight out anyway. Seems to me sighter shots would help the most.

Rick

Certainly, I've shot a few targets that looked similar. One question before I say more - how long (time) between shots?

Wilbur,

it seems like i could only get about 2 off at a time before a drastic wind change. the angle would change quickly but would usually return quickly too. i probably took 60 secs to shoot the group.