sight picture

shooter86314

While I am working thru issues with my eyes and various scopes, I want to ax this question, tho I realize that there might be several answers: Is there a preferred or optimum reticle, target, and sight picture which yields best results? Circles? Dots? Fine crosshairs? Squares?

I am working with my Rem700, chambered in essentially 6mm-250, 85 grain bullets. I have achieved several 5-shot groups below half-inch, but I am not consistent. My Weaver CT-24 has a half-inch dot. I hold my half-inch dot inside a 5/8" circle or square. Several representative target sheets are attached

Attachments

• 244X 6-5-2017.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 353
  • 244X 6-12-2017.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 396
  • 244X CVSF 9-9-17.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 361
  • 244X_CVSF_11-01-17.jpg
    244X_CVSF_11-01-17.jpg
    503 KB · Views: 321
I'm no expert, but I would have to say that a half-inch dot is a bit largish for a 24 power scope. I would think 1/4 minute would be more appropriate, especially since you are trying to shoot groups much small than your dot.

I have a bunch of scopes from 24 to 45 power, mostly in 36X. The 24's wear cross hairs and most of the 36's have 1/8 minute dots, as does the 45X. The little dot works great for score shooting, where I like to place the dot in the top edge of the dime-sized "mothball".

I do the same thing with the cross-hair scopes, but that little dot seems to nestle in there real nice and inspire confidence..

It comes down to preference, really, but finer dots and crosshairs allow more precise aiming, generally.

target suited to reticle