Scope Question

jeffbatt

Jeff B
I am very new to this game. I need help picking out a good repeatable scope. I really don't want to take out a second morage if you know what I mean. Any suggestions would be helpful:confused: Thanks , jeff b

Jeff: Imo. A good place to start, The Leupold VX-3 in 40mm. at 6.5 - 20x it's good for anything from sporter class - ul. in IR 50/50 or ARA. I love the hell out of mine, never had a problem. Their not to bad to buy. Ed.

Jeff,

The Weaver 36X is probably the best for the budget minded shooter especially starting out.
The Sightron SII 36X is also reasonable and liked by those who use them.
Leupolds start getting a little more expensive and will run you for a used 36X model that's not made any longer 500-700.
From there it's close to a grand and above.

I don't shoot IR50/50 sporter but I believe they are limited to 6X, all the other classes, at least for ARA and IR50/50 you can use whatever power you want.
If I was just starting out I'd go with the Weaver, and heck I say starting out, but I've been at this for 4 years and I still use the Weavers and don't have any intentions of replacing them. Note that some of the more seasoned big dogs in the game are using them so they must be OK.

Dan Killough, KSS, has the best prices for new Weavers and helpful with any questions.

Les

Les: Fyi, Ir50/50 sporter class, Max.scope power =6.5 x and I must agree, I also shoot the Weaver 36 I just see more versitility in a variable for a new shooter with maybe 1 or 2 rifles. I only wish Id asked questions first, would have saved me from buying at least 3 scopes. I bought my first Leupold VX3 EFR. 6.5-20 From Dan for about 500. she's still working very well. Jeff....keep the questions comming, these guys are happy to help. and remember, the only dumb question is the one never asked. Ed.