Scope Purchase

M

mikesshop

I am new to rimfire benchrest and need some advice on a scope for my rifle. I am starting out in factory class and I am considering purchasing a Weaver 6x20. I plan on shooting in central and northern Michigan and wanted to check and see if this scope is appropriate for the factory class.
Any advice is welcomed

Mike

Seeing as how you posted this on the 3rd of January and have received no responses, I'll give you mine. It may be bad advice, but it's better than no advice. So, here goes: For my informal benchrest shooting at 50 yards, I use a Nikon 6X18X40 with Warne 7.3/22 medium rings on my CZ 453. Varmint The scope has excellent clarity throughout the zoom range. The clicks are 1/8 m.o.a. and are very crisp. Even shooting at 100 yards, it all the scope I need.

Bear in mind that I am not a true blue benchrest shooter as are many forum members. I generally lurk in the background to learn from others. That being said, I'm sure others here will give you what may be better benchrest advice. At any rate, that's what I use and am more than please with my rifle-scope combination. Happy shooting,

Ken

Need Scope Advice

Thanks Ken. I was beginning to think I had the plague when no one responded. I am a centerfire benchrest shooter and currently use Leupold on my rifle. I just did not know if I could use a variable power scope on my rifle and be legal etc.
I have had experience with the Nikkons on hunting rifles and the clarity has always been pretty good, I just did not know how they would focus at 25 and 50 yards.

Thanks Again
Mike

Mike,
I'd hazard a guess as to why no one pitched in an offered advice is because there are so many different rules for "club matches" across the country it'd be impossible to answer it correctly. If you're allowed unlimited scope power in the class you're going to shoot, by all means take advantage of it.