scope for savage 6.5/284

R

rj4

Hi all
I,m vary new at F class, this is my first try .
I have a savage and want to find the best bace and scope to start with .
anything will be a help
Thanx
RJ

welcome rj4
I have just bought an Leupold VX III 8.5x25-50 with a fine duplex for my Savage 6.5x284 also a WTC 20 moa base
there are better scopes out there but this one fit my budget
Tim V

Thank you for the replays
is there a power range that is better than others
and is a 50 or 56 better
thank you

The bigger the objective the more forgiving the eye relief. When you get into the higher powers, it's good to have some way to reduce it when mirage comes on strong. Either by turning down the zoom or removing and optical multiplier from a fixed power scope.

For my Stevens F class rifle, I have a Farrel MOA one piece base, Burris Sig rings w/ inserts to hold an Elite 4200 6x24 AO target scope w/mil dot reticle. I shim the scope to bracket the distances I will compete at.

For F class, I prefer to hold off because winds change very quickly in my area. I use the mildot reticle to give me multiple aiming points. Dialing my turrents only to account for a significant and constant condition shift.

The scope is a superb value. It works very well for my eyes and the mechanicals have never dissapointed me. The 1/8min click is important so that you can dial in the Xring. 1/4 min moves POA too much at long distances.

I am considering the higher mag scopes but find mirage as a big negative over 24X. I like the larger field of view to watch conditions. 24X is high enough to see the spotting dot as they are usually scaled for the distance shot. Check with the ranges you will compete at to ensure that is correct for you.

I will be getting a 30mm Elite 4200 tactical scope shortly. Will also look at the new Sightrons SIII that come out this spring (????).