Rimfire Hunting Rifles with extreme accuaracy

S

silvermesa

I am very new to all of this and have some questions.

How does a person find a really high quality .22lr hunting rifle? Is it not available? Does it have to be custom made?

I have searched the net high and low for the last week and came up with two broad generalizations.

A) CZ 452 American is considered by some to be the most bang for the least bucks with ok accuracy.
B) Anschutz 54 action 1700 series is considered more substantial and maybe more accurate but 4 times the cost of the CZ

Does anyone make a competition grade accurate hunting rifle? One that you say to yourself "that is an awesome shooting rifle"

The Cooper 57M. But you have to be willing to pay for it. That what you say you are looking for - doesn't come cheap.

Ruger M77 everyone I know that has one they shoot very very well out the box, put a good scope on and you have the squirrl gun from h*ll.

Semper fi

Look for a good Sako Finnfire with a varmint barrel. Will hang in there with an Anschutz for accuracy at a fraction of the cost.

Brian

Anschutz 1712

I am not sure how deep your pockets are but here is the rifle that I have found to be the best 22 offhand rifle I have ever owned. I own four of these,just to tell you how much I think of them - two standard grades and two Meistergrades with consecutive serial numbers.

Let me say it again, the Anschutz 1712 is THE GUN!!!! Not only do they shoot very well (mine shoots under 1" at 100 meters), they are beautiful! Also, I know of no other 22 that has a roll over cheek piece. Anschutz triggers and the standard by which other triggers are judged.

Have I said I just love these guns.

http://jga.anschuetz-sport.com/index.php5?produktID=206&menu=106&sprache=1&produktShow=detail

George

Last edited:
I know you specifically asked about 22 but since I bought my CZ 452 17m2 with a brooks trigger kit, I don't use anything else on tree rats. Shoots like a laser.
Charlie

Hello!