Rebarrel model 52C

rodcarr

Hello,
I am new to the Form and rimfire Benchrest shooting. I have not shot a match yet but have been shooting ARA practice and have some targets in the 2000 range. But most are in the 1700 - 1975 range. I have been learning about the Ammo part
of the game and have been trying different batches and speeds. Most of Ammo has been ELEY MATCH and CENTER - X. I know a lot of it could be the shooter. Something tells me a rifle of this age might shoot a little better with a more modern barrel. The bore looks ok to the naked eye, have not looked at it with a bore scope. The rifle in mounted in a fiberglass stock and has a barrel tuner and the trigger pull is about 1oz as near as I can tell with my RCBS Premium trigger pull scale.

What I am looking for is some idea of who the members think would be the best Gunsmith to contact about re barreling my 52C. I am retired and on a fixed income so a nice $3000.00 - $4000.00 new rifle is not in the picture.
I am open to all ideas on this that do not cost more than getting a new barrel installed. Less costly ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Rod

Well, before you spend any more $ i would certainly make very sure this has really gotten clean and you have a good cleaning process in place, especially since you've been going back and forth with different ammo.
For instance, since you said you're new, are you aware you cannot shoot Lapua over ELEY without really cleaning?

Lastly, while you probably don't want to hear this, before dropping money on a custom blank and having somebody fit it, you're going to be very close and better off to sell the 52 and buy a decent used BR gun....they're out there wthout breaking the bank.

Last edited:
Well, before you spend any more $ i would certainly make very sure this has really gotten clean and you have a good cleaning process in place, especially since you've been going back and forth with different ammo.