reactive target suggestions

T

tpende

just like everyone else i get sick of putting holes in paper fairly quick. so im always trying to come up or find good reactive targets. i happen to be a metal fabricator/machinist by trade so it comes in handy for the swingers & dingers.

im just looking to get a bunch of good suggestions together for long range reactive targets.

im sure a bunch of you guys have used these but for those of you who havent though of it. those mini 8oz short pop cans work GREAT! even out to 400 my .223 manages to turn them into mini grenades. plus if you do the math they cost about the same as the round you fire at them.

BTW i was lucky enough to peg 6 in a row in under 2min. with my single shot. ive got a vid of it. ill try to get it on youtube for you guys to enjoy sometime soon.

Reactive targets

I would get some AR500 steel and cut it into different shapes to represent different "targets" such as ground squirrels, gophers, bowling pins, Mullah's, etc. For the most bang-for-the-buck, have them on bases with a spring and hinge so they can fall back a bit, then spring back to the upright position.

:cool:

Steel, balloons, clay pigeons, cup of flour/lime, eggs, fired brass?...

Mike Gibson Manufacturing (MGM)

Makes reactive steel targets for rifles. I have self righting poppers and spring loaded prarie dogs from him. Had them for years. I have them at 300 & 400 yards and they have lasted through many rounds of 22-250 to 300 Weatherby fire.

Fun to shoot, Good service

http://www.mgmtargets.com/

Last edited: