Questions on Scopes and Ballistics

R

ryan_v2006

Hey everyone
This is my first time posting on this site or any site for that matter. I am tryin to get into long range shooting and i know i need some help. I have a Savage model 12 chambered in 300 WSM. I recently purchased a Richards Microfit stock to put on it. Havent got the stock yet. So i need a scope to go on it. Im on a budget so I was considering a Burris XTR 6.5-20X50mm. Whats your advice and opinion?

Next ? I want a scope with the mil dot reticle. How do i use the reticle. I know that one MOA is one inch at one hundred yards two inches and two hundred and so on. But how does MOA tie in to the mil dots. Also target knobs how do they work?

Some basic questions i know....i beg your patience to anyone who answers.
Thanks
Ryan

Last edited by a moderator:
The Burris Black Diamond scopes with the 30 MM tube are good scopes. Keep them mounted using the Burris rings with the plastic inserts and they are very good at holding POI. I have been using the 8X32X50 Burris Black Diamond for years. Good scope for the $.

The lesser cost Burris models are not as good as the Black Diamond series.

In the 6.5-20 range the Leupold scopes are hard to beat. Often you can pick up a good used one for around $400.

You can usually get a very good Leupold 36 D for $500-600. They are hard to beat for the $ if you are range shooting.

Scope mounts are very critical. I favor a Weaver style base with the Burris Signature Zee rings. These have the plastic inserts and are very easy to mount. With these plastic inserts you do not have to lap the bore of the rings.

Ill definitely keep the Black diamond in mind. I like the sound of the leupold too. Im not afraid of buying a used one either. I picked up a used nikon monarch one time and i wont do that again but the burris and leupolds dont scare me. thanks for the info

moa/mil dot