Pinning Recoil Lug

Frank B

When I had my Rem. action trued and barreled five years ago my gunsmith asked if I wanted the lug pinned. I asked him why. I think he said it was to insure that the lug would be in the right place in the bedding when changing barrels. I thought it was for shooters that changed barrels frequently so I passed on having it done. A new barrel and reamer are on the way. Can the lug still be pinned to insure a perfect fit in my bedding? Thanks. Later! Frank

Newbie here,

But, I would say no. pin the lug while your changing the barrel, grind a little of the old bedding out and skim bed.

Let the beatings begin.

Med.

Last edited:
I now use a lug alignment jig on the bottom of the 700 action when tightening the barrel. It holds the lug correctly... no pins required. I have found some pins shear and/or the hole in the action distorts somewhat.

I over came that by placing a very small amount of 120 grit abrasive on the action face... that locks the lug to the action when torquing it tight using the alignment jig.

I don't bother with the pins at all anymore.

If your lug was bedded with clearance on the bottom and sides this alignment jig is accurate enough for repeat barrel swaps... the key in your scenario is how true was the lug installed, was an alignment jig used?

Thats all fine but if you want to swap barrels without removing the action from the stock the pinned lug is nice, maybe not necessary, but nice.

Gary