One flag distance?

EdLena

When shooting 100 yards I see people often use 3 wind flags. If you could only use 1 flag at what distance would you place it.
We know that any wind drift on a pellet at close range will compound into a greater change in POI than a wind farther down range.
However a more mid range flag placement my be more indicative of the entire wind profile.
Any mathematicians out there?

I’m a mathematician and I say 1 + 2 = 3
That may be the best number of flags.
Also, watch the flags on the lanes next to you. They will tell you before it’s too late.

Free tip but others must opine

I've read convincing arguments that the most important flag (of a few, spaced evenly from bench to target) is the one near the bench. The reasoning is that the first deflecting wind has the biggest effect on downrange POI.

That makes sense but my match experience is different. Mid-range and target-area flags seem more significant than the flag near the bench, and watching them gives better results. I think this is because there is a lot of wind interference near the bench that makes flags in this area less relevant. ie, eddies off of sun roofs, adjacent structures, etc.

In other words, once the pellet leaves the zone of sun roof influence it is taken by winds in the open range.

Last edited:
In other words, once the pellet leaves the zone of sun roof influence it is taken by winds in the open range.

That makes sense and I've noticed the same peculiar flag activity with the nearest flag. So just far enough from the building to be free of it's interference would be good, say 30 yards?

I shoot at 25 meters so 30 yard wouldn't be much help ;)

Usually the best approach is to experiment. Try different positions and see what works best.