not enough adjustemnt with NF 12x42 ? something isnt right!

R

redmenter

Hello,
New to board.. i tried searching out the answer, but maybe its too specific for me to find the answer that way? So i am new to the world of long range shooting. Recently bought the savage model 12 F, 6mm BR, 30" barrel, egw .850" rings, and egw 20 moa mount. All went on great, was able to easily get on paper at 100yds. Zeroed it at 200 yds. this 12x42 benchrest scope doesn't have zerostop. finally got to range with 1000 yards targets this weekend, and low and behold i run out of adjustment at 900 yards. 4 rotations of the dial (190 clicks). i read a ton before i bought this set up, and never read anyone running out of adjustment at 1000yds?? so i have to figure im doing something wrong? i mounted base with higher end in back, lower end towards front (barrel). was really really hoping someone with a similar set up could steer me in the right direction.
A couple things to note if it helps, when i am zero'd at 200yds. the dial is showing "3" on the lines on bottom of dial, so i have 4 turns total up, or i can screw it down 3 full rotations before it bottoms out. and at 200 i can put 3 shots inside an inch. also was hitting 400, 600, 700 yard steel without much problem,, so i know its zero'd correctly?
thanks a ton!
please help!

In my experience, it's not unusual to find that there can be a certain amount of misalignment between an untrued action an a barrel, some unexpected barrel sag or barrel harmonics that will confuse the pure mathematics of selecting a scope rail. For example, I use millennium actions bedded with their proprietary Flexibed system & all three need a full 10 MOA more slope on their scope rails to achieve appropriate adjustments, so it seems like the float is in the bedding. On the other hand, over the last 15 years or so, every barrel of the same calibre that my gunsmith has fitted shoots within a MOA or thereabouts of the zero of the previous one.