Newbie with questions

D

Doc_K

I am a long time lurker first time poster. I am a recently separated Navy veteran that has taken up an interest in bench rest shooting. My background is mostly in military matches and vintage sniper matches. My local club has frequent 200 yard matches and that's what I am after. Maybe in the future and if I retain an interest i will look to compete other places at longer distances. I do have a couple of questions for you shooter veterans:

1. Caliber - What is considered to be a good caliber for this distance? I have been looking at 22ppc more so because a local shooter here has one for sale at a good price. I have seen a wide range including the br calibers and even some common calibers used. I will be reloading so no problem there.

2. Should I buy a used rifle for my first? I am not opposed to buying a used rifle and replacing parts as needed such as barrels etc. Is this suggested or should I go full custom for the whole build? Also, where is a good place for a used rifle, I am on a budget so the less expensive the better. Around $1-1500 for rifle.

3. Glass - Also an area with a wide array. I have been trained on 10x for just about everything but know this will not cut it in these disciplines. Keeping in mind budget and I know that I wont be a marksmen right at the start, i just need something to get me in the game.

Well, there it is. I would appreciate any and all advice. I have spoken to many members of different clubs and just wanted to get an outsiders opinion. I appreciate any and all help that you guys can offer. Thanks. - Doc_K