New to this forum and F class style shooting

Downeast

Hi everyone,

I've been shooting "F-Class style" now for about a year with a 6.5 Creedmoor out to 600 yards. I'm located in southeastern NC and as far as I know there is no one in the immediate vicinity that shoots F-Class. So, I shoot by myself and do the best I can. I have a "range" behind my house out to 900 yards (1,000 if it ever stops raining!). I have F-class targets and I use shoot-n-z targets over them so that I can see impacts. I'm a total newbie at this but having a lot of fun and learning something new every time I shoot. I'm shooting groups (5-7 rounds) at 200 yards (my sight-in distance) that are grouping right at an inch. I'm using 140 Berger's and H4350, which seems to be the most popular load for this caliber. I was going to post a pic for everyone to criticize but the system seems to ignore my clicking on the "Manage Attachments" button.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself. I'm pondering the idea of having a rifle built in the next year or two (depending on budget, I may have to buy everything separate over time and have a smith put it together for me). For some strange reason I seem to be intrigued with the 284 Win. Don't ask me why? If there is anyone out there living in se NC come on by and we'll burn some powder. Just remember to bring some boots and bug spray!

... I'm shooting groups (5-7 rounds) at 200 yards (my sight-in distance) that are grouping right at an inch...
Hi there!

As an FYI, typical strings of fire for F-Class are usually 20 shots for score, plus at least two sighters. It may help to obtain a copy of the NRA rulebook for Highpower rifle, which contains F-Class rules, link to the rules for 2020 may be obtained at http://rulebooks.nra.org/documents/pdf/compete/RuleBooks/HPR/hpr-book.pdf. NOTE: There are F-Class specific rules, but other parts of Highpower rules still apply.