My new benchrest rifle...

Dick Wright

In 2015 I found a Unertl scope at a gun show at a good price and couldn't resist. Once I had it, I decided it needed a gun. I found a Ruger No. 1 action in .458 and started this project. It was supposed to be a 1960's varmint rifle. I ordered a .22 barrel in 14" twist from Douglas and a Kepplinger trigger from Brownell's. It is now a .222 Rem. I have had lots of sad experience with the factory triggers. A local custom gunsmith put the metal work together for me and I was off and running.

Over the years I have stocked a number of hunting rifles. I had a set of factory take-off stocks (shown in the pic.) and modified them till I liked the lines. I, then, sent the pattern stocks and a two piece set of Turkish Circassian walnut blanks to a gun maker friend who has a machine that pre-carved the good blanks to my patterns. I got everything back last October and started whittling...

The stock in the background is a partially completed CZ sporter that I made for a friend. A picture of the finished product along with an identical rifle I made for myself can be found on the rimfire forum in Butch Lambert's thread on his tin can shooter.

Last edited:
BR gun... cont'd.

After a few hundred hours of stock work this is what I have. I just sent the gun, minus scope, to my pal in Colorado to be checkered and rust blued a couple of days ago.

I will receive it back by mid-March and will spend as much time as necessary working up loads to make it shoot as well as I can. I did shoot it in the pattern stocks last summer and had excellent results... under 2/10" at 50 yds. and under 4/10" at 100 yds. on my own range. This with no load work-up at all.