Loose primers?

M

mrswib

I have been shooting 6PPC for many years. I went to reload the Lapua Brass I just shot in a match and all 40 of them have loose primer pockets. Brass has only be used 5 times. The last time I did shoot 29.8 of 133, could this have been to hot??

I have been shooting 6PPC for many years. I went to reload the Lapua Brass I just shot in a match and all 40 of them have loose primer pockets. Brass has only be used 5 times. The last time I did shoot 29.8 of 133, could this have been to hot??

Is it the NEW Blue Box Lapua ?

Loose primers

I bought them weighed from Ron, came in blue box but do not know the original box?

Sounds like you may have switched from one brand of primer to another with smaller diameter. They vary from one make to another. 29.8 grains of N133 is a pretty hot load; near the upper limit which most shooters consider to be 30.2 grains. Switch to Wolf SRM primers. They are larger diameter than Fed 205M.

Gene Beggs

I shot 30

Cases of blue box with an average of 30.2grs of 133 at the Nationals. Shot just the 3 gun. As far as I am concerned primer pockets are still fine...

5 of the cases were used non stop as sighter and the other 25 were rotated as record cases. So in reality they should have seen no more than 10 reloads including practice sessions. I used Fed 205M primers...

I ever say how much I LOVE 133????? LOL.... so many are not fond but I love that stuff.....

Calvin

Chip

I found a chip in the side of my deburring tool and hope it is the cause. Thanks for the input.

I don't think the cause of the loose pockets is your deburring tool but it could be. You likely put a bit too much powder in there. Not a bad thing if your rifle shot well. In fact, if your rifle likes it, who cares? Gas leakage will cut a circle in your bolt face but again, who cares if it shoots good?