Leupold or Sightron, which to buy?

E

enfieldwill

I'm a newbie to the forum and am looking for a new scope for use in F-Class. I have narrowed my choices down to between the fixed power Leupold Competition Rifle Scope 30mm Tube 45x 45mm and the variable power Sightron SIII Long Range Rifle Scope 30mm Tube 10-50x 60mm Side Focus, both with target dot reticles. I know the advantage of a variable over a fixed power by able to reduce power for better clarity and to reduce mirage, but the Leupold still calls. So I thought that I would seek some advice from guys who shoot and know a thing or 2 about optics.
Thanks in advance.

The zoom has a big advantage - you can wind-down the power to see your competitors' targets. Essential for picking up on hard to detect wind changes. Never fire a shot without checking the targets either side.

I was hoping to hear from some shooters who own a Sightron scope. How good are they, compared to others. I never had one and only have some Leupold, Nikon, BSA, Mueller & Tasco. I'm assuming their optics are on par with Leupold.

I have the 10x50 Sightron and am pleased as punch with it. Only issue is that it's pretty heavy - about 30 ounces - so if you have to make weight, it might not be the best choice. Otherwise, it is bright, accurate, repeatable. I've compared it against NF 15-55, Marches, Leupolds, at the local club match and it is as bright or brighter than all the others.

Dennis

For long range i would choose the Sightron from your list. Being able to crank it back for conditions will help. I had the 8-32 S-III LRMOA on a 13lb 300RUM tac type gun and the scope held up well. I found the side focus knob to be a bit tight.....But that is knit picking.

I was hoping to hear from some shooters who own a Sightron scope. How good are they, compared to others. I never had one and only have some Leupold, Nikon, BSA, Mueller & Tasco. I'm assuming their optics are on par with Leupold.