leade angle

B

b moulds

i have just calculated the correct leade angle for the 180 gn berger 7mm bullet using the method described by james boatright.
the minimum angle (at which the ogive touches the lands at groove diam) i get is 5.165 degrees per side, and the ideal angle as described by james (at which the ogive touches the leade at groove diam) is 5.7 degrees per side.
this seems very steep to me, and as a non mathematician, i can only presume i got it wrong.
has anyone with any skill calculated these angles, and would they be prepared to share the answer?
thanks,
bruce.

Just my opinion but don't believe everything you read. There's a lot more involved in throat angles than what may theoretically be ideal for centering up the bullet in the bore. Boatright has some interesting and valid ideas, theories and writings, but I have never felt he was 100% on with all that he espouses. Some of the throat angles that you get when you "run the numbers" are way more than are typically used and found to be in the norm of what is workable.

Query:

What the steep angle does for pressures? It elevates them.

Does the steep angle stresss the whole projectile more as it forces it to deform more quickly as it passes through the lands? I bet it does.

Have you taken one step forward in one place but maybe 1 or 2 backwards by using a steep throat angle? I think that may be the case.

Robert Whitley

Steep

To tell you the truth ,the only way you will really know is to have the reamer made.We have and find no minuses and so far i think the barrel life is extended but it is to early to prove ..Still over 3000 competitive 1000yd Benchrest cartridges later with a 80 gn powder charge is not to be sneezed at, about the last time this barrel was shot it recorded 2 back to back 7 inch 10 shoters at 1K..JR..Jeff Rogers