Home brewed rifle at the Nationals in Phoenix

V

Viking

Hi, I am new to this particular forum, although I am quite frequent on the GTA forum.(Tomg)

I had the pleasure of attending the nationals this past weekend with some top notch shooters from around the country, infact even someone from around the globe.
I thought I share my experience, I picked up a Benjamin Disco .22 PCP about 4 months ago, started to fiddle and tinker with it. It got me hooked so I built it, applied my ideas, tinkered and tinkered, reworked it over and over. Then the Nationals came and I knew it was a good shooter in the backyard, but in no way how it would perform with the big boys.
I dont have a lot of fancy tools, a dremel, a drill press and a table saw, common sense, and some ideas.

I probably have about 1200 bucks into it including scope, rest and bag. Now I just need to work on the guy behind the trigger:)

With the new barrel (custom TJ .22 from Jim Gaska), and my mods to that barrel and the tension sleeve, it was capable of 0.02" 5 shots groups at 25m regularly. And not particularly pellet fuzzy either. It does 18.1, 15.8 and 13.4 grains equally good at around 890fps.
I managed to shoot 702 / 17x at 25 in the nationals in the gusty wind, without any flags of my own (don't really have any practice reading them either...lol)

Here is a couple of pictures of the Monster, my friends call it the Viking Cyborg, I call it "Lovebelly #1"
My rest i put together with some parts I had sent to me as product samples (linear slide with carriage) for free, then picked up a bearing block for 20 bucks, some metal and a top bag for another 30 bucks.

20140501_133620.jpg

20140501_133236.jpg

20140501_133833.jpg

You have an amazing rifle there and you shot it well too

..." it was capable of 0.02" 5 shots groups at 25m regularly. And not particularly pellet fuzzy either. It does 18.1, 15.8 and 13.4 grains equally good at around 890fps" ....