Hello to everyone!!!

U

UNVMYWJ

I am new to the sight and like it. I was reading on other sights and they recommended I come here and check things out. I also had a question that they thought you guys would be able to answer for me.

It looks like I am going to have some good reading on here and what I have seen so far I am very pleased. I am not sure where to post this question I have so I will put it here. I am sure it will be relocated by mods if I have screwed up. Here is my story...

I happened across a remington 40x the other day in a gun shop and it was the ugliest thing I ever saw. Mamoth barrel on it, huge ugly stock with some kind of rail on the bottom. Heavy as He** to hold.

Long story short I did a little research and went and bought it today. I told the guy how ugly it was and didnt think he would be able to sell it ever! Got it for 400 bucks. This thing is in mint condition. Stock looks brand new, Barrel has zero sign of wear. Bolt serial number matches the gun.

During my research of the gun I found an article that said the serial number will end with a B. (eg XXXXXXB) and no other letter. Mine ends in C. Does anyone know what the C means. This gun is obviously not a knock off and if it is I cant tell.

Any help would be appreciated.

UNV

Hi UNV

My first 6PPC BR rifle was built on a Rem 40X BR action. It too had a heavy wooden stock on it but the BR trigger and action were in good condition. Strangely enough the seriel number on its action also ended in C. I know for a fact it is a genuine remington because it was still in factory spec when the dealer sold it to me. I had know idea until I read your post that there was anything about the ending of the serial number that was off. Best you contact Remington to see if they can shed any light on the subject.
Andy in Oz.