First attempt at Electro Etch.

B

blagg

This is my first attempt at Electro Etch. I should have taken out of the stock as I missed part of the "A".
385057_259891280734401_100001405921581_732449_1803790634_n.jpg

Hey I bought one of them units, it's still in the box.

Tell us more?

Can you post a bigger pic?

You did that in place???

al

Well its still a learning curve, but here are some of my mistakes. I use Ms Word on my computer, Pick a thick dark font about size 14. When you cut out the stencils, cut them out large enough to cover the head of the machine. Dwell time was just a couple of seconds. I did try it on a blued barrel with not very good results, yet! When developing the stencils in the liquid supplied follow instrucs. carefully. When using the sponge, you are wiping away the bluish stuff to leave a mesh where the print is. Sooo, if your etch is missing spots you probable didnt scrub it well enough while in the developer. I will try and get some more pics.

electro chem etch is pretty easy, and good on plain clean metal.
need room for the stencil and tool head...so yes on the bbl side best out of the stock.

very durable..its in the metal, not on it.

( we used it a bunch on salt water undersea stuff..lots of ss)

mike in co

Does the system let you use any PostScript or True Type font?

I ask not because I want to do this, but because setting type is my business, and if it would be useful, can maybe help with sources of pretty good quality free fonts, and what to look for in letterforms.