expectations to high ?

S

sneal

fellas, ill try to keep this short and to the point. after posting on centerfire benchrest and being redirected here, i am down to 2 rifles. i was in a financial pinch and sold a 22-250 darrel holland remington that shot under .5 moa over my truck hood with bags ,20oz soda bottles 400yd, with no proper rest. as well as a cooper 220 swift montana varminter . so maby my expectations are 2 high. im limited to 1500 dollars im leaning towards savage lrpv 204 ruger or savage lpv in 204. with nikon 5 x 20 x 44 monarch. the reason for 204 is im not good at hold over or yard estimation. i love shooting paper and the coyote crossing the field at 300 plus yd. what can i expect outta these guns. i got rid of my reloader as well, will have to start out with factory ammo. can i expect .5 moa at 100yd. im stuck on 32grain pill for that laser like trajectory. ive done so much reading and research i think im gonna be sick. PLEASE ANY INFO IS TRULY APPRECIATED. if my wife lets me go through this expensive phase again it will have to be a keeper . shooter or not...

I think you're making a solid choice with the Savage. The Darrel Holland rifle is in an entirely different class as far as accuracy and even the Cooper is a step up from the Savage BUT, the Savage platform is a sound starting point. The thing is, you take your chances out of the box, my expectation would be 1" @ 100yds and anything near 3/4" would make me happy. Now you take the time to glas-bed it and free up the barrel and you MIGHT get 'er down to 1/2moa but I wouldn't be too disappointed if that doesn't happen.

Your next step will be a custom barrel, the Sav is the best/cheapest platform for this. A cheap or even busted Sav from the pawn shop with a custom barrel and some cheap reloading gear and some TIME :) is another way to go.