Custom rifle assembly

J

Jyoung538

I am planning on getting a new custom rifle, and would like to assemble it my self. I have never done this before but would like to for the learning experience as well as saving a bit of money. What all goes into this? What tools are needed? What processes have to be taken?
Thanks,
Josh

Ever see that sign ?

Labor
$50.00 Hour

$60 Hour if you watch

$75 Hour if you help

Building your own Custom Rifle is not just bolting the pieces together

You might start by learning to rebed an existing rifle that needs bedding work.

Last edited:
Practice on something inexpensive. Sell it, keep the knowledge, then do it again... before moving up to the expensive actions.

What is needed for the process though, and what is a good way to start cheap?

Buy a savage
then buy a replacement prechambered barrel barrel, a headsace gauge, and find a friend who knows what to do with the gauge.

Suggestion...

What is needed for the process though, and what is a good way to start cheap?

1. A good easy to work with action (Rem 700 is best).
2. A custom barrel fitted to your trued up action (Shilen, Krieger, Bartlein, Douglas, or many others will fill the bill). Have a gunsmith chamber and fit the barrel). Fit a Jewell trigger in the action.
3. Pick a good stock...Fajen, Six, or McMillen will fill the bill here.
4. Get good bedding advise off the web (just Google it), and bed the barreled action.
5. Tune your new rifle with various loads for the caliber you've chosen.
6. After your success...inform your interested friends that you''ll build them a rifle cheap or...you'll sell them a great custom rifle cheap. :rolleyes:
7. Now...start another one and avoid all the mistakes you've made with the first one.;)

good luck...virg

Brownell's sells......