CPS Aluminum Stock?

B

bl4ckd0g

I am thinking of purchasing a used BR rifle from Shooter's Corner that is stocked with a CPS aluminum "I-Beam" skeleton stock. I am just starting out and my budget is limited, so I'm focusing more on something used to build up my skills, and hunt prairie dogs, crows, or marmots.

Bob White touts the enhanced accuracy of a rigid stock, which I imagine is quite stiff. Does anyone here have an opinion or experience with them?

Also, would anyone here be able to post picture or two of it?

You'll definitely want to see a picture IMO. You might get laughed off the varmint patch packin' a screen door :D

The only pix I've seen were in "The Ultimate in Rifle Accuracy" I THINK....... I seem to recall Glen Newick using one in 6BR.

Someone on here will be able to correct me now that the ball's rolling ;) be patient.

al

I am thinking of purchasing a used BR rifle from Shooter's Corner that is stocked with a CPS aluminum "I-Beam" skeleton stock. I am just starting out and my budget is limited, so I'm focusing more on something used to build up my skills, and hunt prairie dogs, crows, or marmots.

Bob White touts the enhanced accuracy of a rigid stock, which I imagine is quite stiff. Does anyone here have an opinion or experience with them?

Pass on the CPS stocked rifle, although it most likely will shoot just fine, when it comes time for re-selling the rifle you will find it to be one large headache because of the lack of familiarity.

Stick with the tried, true, traditional stuff until you are well versed in the BR equipment race, then you can explore the fringe stuff like CPS gunstocks and know what you are getting into.............Don

I am cut from the cloth of shooters who believes "a gun should look like a gun", even if it has a big neon green fiberglass stock that resembles a '57 Bel Air's taillight fin.

Thanks, I'll be sure to pass on the "screen door"