concentricity gage questions

N

nilescoyote

While I have reloaded for several years I am new to the precision reloading for the long range venue.

I purchased a new sinclair concentricity gage and decided to check some of my reloads as well as some Federal match to base my findings. I was checking bullet run out and got some surprizing results. These are all for 308 winchester.

First I checked some loads I had reloaded on lake city brass that had been full length resized and loaded with sierra 168 bthp. Run out measured from .003 with most being between .005 and .009

Then I checked some Federal match also 168 bthp, run out was between .001 and .009 with the most right around .005-.007

So last I checked some reloads using federal match brass and again 168 bthp and these were .001-.007 with most in the .001-.004 range.

So my questions are, is this normal for factory match ammo? It seems my reloads are right inline with what they are producing. The loads made with lake city brass show the most run out. If I neck turn these will it improve the results. What is the best way to reduce run out?

I'm one of those disciples of the Lee collet neck sizing die.

It works because the mandrel which the die squeezes the neck against is also a decapper (though I deprime separately) & thus locates pretty damn close to concentric with the case because the bottom end is aligned by the flash hole. It can be a real bugger to get set up & the instructions don't help all that much, but once you have a handle on it, it's amazing how straight you can load ammo with it. I expect to get no more than .0015" runout measuring near the tip of a 210 SMK or Berger loaded to 3.15" OAL.