Cheek contact with the stock

W

wisconsin

Ok let me first say. I'm new to this sport. And I'm not trying to start trouble. But I'm a little confused about why all the pictures I see of matches. No one is in contact with there rimfire stock. Only there trigger finger comes into play. And most of all the rests are one piece. I was raised to shoot with the stock to my shoulder,arm under the stock at the bag. Divorce my trigger finger from the rest of my body, exhale, hold and shoot. Part of the reason I ask this question is. I was a little,no make that real confused at all the different style of stocks out there. I'm use to the pistol type rifle stock. I do understand the benifit of only having to use my trigger finger. Takes almost all the human error out of it. And really only forces me to read my wind flags. So this style of shooting I'm seeing on the websites of past rimfire matches is exceptable/legal? Jeff

we normally shoot free recoil. any contact with the rifle other than the trigger plays into everything. in most types of matches i believe a one piece rest can only be used in unlimited classes. i could be wrong.

i myself replaced all my rings this year with off set rings to help keep my cheek of the stock.

DSCN1136.jpg

Jeff, that is a 40x the same as you have. take notice how the comb and toe have been re-shaped. those 40x were made for 3 posistion the comb is very high and to shoot bench i take about .100 to .150 off the comb and straighten out the rake and toe area

that is one of the older 722 take notice how the hand rail has been filed smooth. might not show up real well but the sides are recontoured and a flat is forward of the hand rail. when done properly you can shoot free recoil. those rifles ride a fudd top and protekter bags real well now. I even do that to the ones I shoot peeps.

compare those to yours they all have been recontoured. the ones shooting scoped and benched more so.

DSCN1007.jpg