Bench Shooting: Selecting front rest, many questions

R

Rock63

New guy checking in :D Hopefully this is not a dumb question.

I am a beginner in .22 LR (100 yards) and .243 (100-600 yards) bench rest shooting. Currently are using a loaner front rest and rear bag, very old, no adjustability for windage, no fine adjustments for elevation. But to get started and learn the basics I'm glad to have the loaner product.

The question: What should I look at for my next front rest (hopefully I can use the same one for both calibers)? I'm not looking for a cadillac, but would like to avoid having to buy 6 different bench rests as I move up in skill.

Rock,

Hard to beat a Fudd front rest.

I have one. Kent Owens told me about the Fudd. They are around $400 I believe new. You can find a used one sometimes on here for around $325 shipped that is probably close to new condition.

Rock,

Hard to beat a Fudd front rest.

I have one. Kent Owens told me about the Fudd. They are around $400 I believe new. You can find a used one sometimes on here for around $325 shipped that is probably close to new condition.

Thanks Brad, what features of the Fudd put it ahead of the rest in your opinion?

In a word, price.

Here's my Fudd rest I bought from Brian Brandt on here.

23790Fudd_Rest_And_Horton_Rear_Rest.jpg

23790Fudd_002.jpg

I paid $325 shipped for mine and I got the Paul Horton adjustable rear rest as well. I later sold it for $60 I believe.

The Fudd is a good cast iron heavy rest. It has a windage top, and it also has the adjustable sideplates for different width forearm stocks.

It works like a dream.

Kent Owens loves his Fudd rest and he has won a lot of wood. You can buy more expensive rest, but the Fudd in all probability will work just as good.

Rock63,

The only dumb question is the one you DON'T ask!

The SEB front rest and rear bag are the goods! Cheap? No. However, it's the first and last rest and bag you, or your grandchildren will EVER have to buy.

100_0688.jpg